How Are You Wielding Your Knife?

When I first began my wellness journey I connected with a holistic spiritual center. This was my first exposure to the metaphysical world. Interestingly many of the teachers there were Korean and spoke very broken English, and yet I experienced more connection and communication with them in many ways than I often shared with native folk around me. The teachers seemed to see something in me. It was the first time I was acknowledged and appreciated for my sensitivity.

During this fertile period of personal growth and awakening, I was seeking answers to questions I had both about the direction of my life and some health issues with which I was dealing. In response to a number of physical symptoms that were spiraling into what appeared to be some kind of deterioration of my health, my teacher began speaking to me in the language of metaphor offering wisdom that has prompted me forward on many occasions, despite distraction or obstacles.

She said: “You possess within your being a powerful knife. This knife can be good for many things. Having such a knife is a privilege. You can chop things with your knife, carve things with your knife, and create many things with your knife. Some people may look to you and say that you are lucky because you possess a knife. However, having a knife like this comes with great responsibility. If you do not use your knife it can become a destructive device that will cause self-harm.”

The energy and information transmitted to me in that moment took some time to fully grasp. I pondered this concept for some time. However as I continued to grow in awareness, I began to fully absorb the message she had given.

Over time I realized that my knife was my abundance of creative energy which comes in part from being a channel between the higher and lower. Actively expressing this energy required the using of my gifts and talents–this was “using my knife”. The fact that I was a pretty lost individual at the time, still trying to cram myself into the standard mainstream box while stuffing down my eccentric differences, was a primary reason for my physical ailments. My knife was cutting me.

Unexpressed creative energy is a common cause of illness, addiction and depression. To simplify this idea, let’s boil it down to your gifts and talents (your knife). No matter who you are, you are born with some specific talent, gift or capacity. Within your very distinct talents there is an abundance of creative energy.

So the singer then must sing; the artist must paint; the craftsman must build; the healer must heal; the communicator must communicate; the cook must prepare food; and the writer must write.

Time today is pretty tight. The demands of having a solid job and steady income ends up taking up a great deal of our time and energy. Often the jobs we work at may not be aligned with our unique gift which we have been endowed with by Spirit. This gift then, is unexpressed.

The one with the outstanding singing voice, for example, works from 9 to 5 and then rushes home to love and care for her child; she does not sing.

Understandably, this noble and responsible behavior is well understood and even respected. But despite the good intentions of this non-singing singer, on some level her unexpressed gift is causing her grief or harm.

The non-singing singer will most likely feel dissatisfied with her life, maybe even drained or depressed. Life zooms by and there is little time to connect all the dots to understand the true source of her discontent. In fact, she will most likely blame things outside of herself. Rarely does one just rise up in the midst of the often harsh reality of life and say, “well if I just used my god given gift and burst out in song today, then all would be healed”.

Yet, that is the truth of the matter. Putting the demands of life aside, you have an absolute responsibility to use your knife.

Spirit endows us all with something special that we are to bring into the material realm, and expressing this creative energy is important. It brings us into alignment with our divine blueprint, our true and highest, healthiest version of our self, and places a unique puzzle piece in its destined spot within the whole. This is a puzzle piece that cannot be filled by any other.

At the end of the day, monetizing our gifts so that we can be one with the expression of this creative energy is an ideal that we can always work towards. However, if this is not a reality for us at this very moment in time, we still have to use our knife.

Wielding your knife as a hobby, in your private time, as a free gift you share with others in self-determined ways, or just for pleasure, is a must.

More often than not the depressed, sick, addicted or lost adult that is suffering in some way is the beholder of an unexpressed talent or gift with much trapped creative energy (usually in the solar plexus region). The angry, antisocial, or hyper child with behavior challenges most probably has a very special gift that has yet to be uncovered or developed.

The creative energy of these super powers is unrelenting, and does not neutralize just because we decide we cannot afford to express it.

Discovering what kind of knife you possess, and finding a way to use it regularly in your life, will alter your life forever. This is a key to feeling better, being happier, becoming whole, losing excess weight, healing your body, and connecting to the higher depths of your life.

Do you know what your knife is? Have you used it before, but laid it down or left it behind? Do you remember how it felt to use your knife? How can you start using your knife today?

Comments are closed.